Book Club Guide

Are you interested in starting a book club, or are you already part of a book club that wants suggestions for further reading? We’re here to help!

Try these Reading Group picks from our librarians!

Recommended read-alikes for First Drafts Book Club selections:

Red Rising, by Pierce Brown

Reincarnation Blues, by Michael Poore (printable bookmark)

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore, by Matthew Sullivan

Recommended read-alikes for Brown Bag Book Club selections:

Fiction:

Gwendy’s Button Box, by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

Crazy Rich Asians, by Kevin Kwan

The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Setterfield

My Name is Lucy Barton, by Elizabeth Strout (printable bookmark)

Vinegar Girl, by Anne Tyler (printable bookmark)

In a Dark, Dark Wood, by Ruth Ware

A Welcome Murder, by Robin Yocum (printable bookmark)

Young Adult Fiction:

The Start of Me and You, by Emery Lord (printable bookmark)

Salt to the Sea, by Ruta Sepetys (printable bookmark)

Nonfiction:

Morningstar: Growing Up with Books, by Ann Hood

A Mother’s Reckoning, by Sue Klebold (printable bookmark)

Hillbilly Elegy, by J.D. Vance (printable bookmark)

Advice on starting your own book club:

I Love Libraries

Lit Lovers

Penguin Random House

Suggestions for further reading:

ALA Book Club Central 

An online resource for book clubs, readers, and librarians from the American Library Association

Great Reads for Book Clubs

Check the library’s Book Club Pinterest board for a round-up of titles our librarians recommend for your group

Indie Bound

Indie booksellers select their monthly picks and chart bestsellers, and feature a special section for reading groups

Library Reads

Librarians from around the country choose their favorite ten books every month they think their readers will love

Penguin Random House Librarian Resources

Get the scoop on new books before they’re released – with special sections just for book clubs

Shelf Awareness

The newsletter for readers provides reviews, book club picks, and bookish links to keep you current on pop culture

Share

Book Club Guide