Meet the Caldecott Contenders

And the winner is…….Hello Lighthouse by Sophia Blackall, author and illustrator.

Per the Association for Library Service to Children, “The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  The Medal shall be awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published by an American publisher in the United States in English during the preceding year.”  For additional information on terms and criteria for the Caldecott Award, click here.

Animals of the Bible Book Cover

The medal was first awarded in 1938 to Dorothy P. Lathrop, illustrator for Animals of the Bible: A Picture Book.

Imagine the honor of winning this prestigious award.  Now imagine winning it more than once – try about three times!

Only two illustrators have won the Caldecott three times.

Marcia Brown won three Caldecott Medal Awards and seven Caldecott Honor Awards:

David Wiesner also won three Caldecott Medal Awards and three Caldecott Honor Awards:


Each year the internet is abuzz with Caldecott contenders, and below we have selections of predicted winners (I have my favorite! Click to see which one it is): it’s your turn to check out these titles and make your own prediction!

The Caldecott winner will be announced in January 2019.



Meet the Caldecott Contenders

  COVID-19 UPDATE:  All Pickerington Public Library locations are following the color levels approved by the Library Board of Trustees.   Orange level: Library is open with browsable collections. Computers, study tables, business center by appointment only. In-person notary and proctoring appointments. Virtual technology trainer appointments. Virtual events and classes. Curbside service. Limited restroom access. *Safety protocols in place; masks required, no food or drink allowed.